Is it Instagram? We explain what makes this social network option

Is it Instagram? We explain what makes this social network option

In addition to giving likes, commenting and sharing with friends through private messages, Instagram users can republish other people's content. We explain how this option works and what the implications are.

© Shutterstock


02/11/2026
by

Miguel Patinha Dias

Sand is an Instagram user is likely to interact with the publications you find on the social network mainly based on giving “likes”, commenting or sharing with friends through private messages.

 

However, if you haven't noticed, there is a fourth way to interact with Instagram posts – whether photos or videos present in Feed or Explore.

This option gives you the name Republicar (Repost) and in practice allows you to share with your followers a publication or video shared by others.

Like I'm new: The 6 tips to keep your TV fast

It is natural that, after some time of use, television begins to display signs of slowing down. Fortunately, there are some solutions you can apply to prevent performance from suffering.

Miguel Patinha Dias

The Republican option – which can be found in the form of an icon below the posts and which is represented with two arrows – allows you to help grow the audience of a video shared by your favorite content creators. The publications and videos you have decided to republish will appear in the Feeds and Reels of your friends, and will also be stored in one of their profile tabs.

This ability will certainly be useful if you are one of those people who likes to share videos or publications with your friends. For example, if you have enjoyed a video so much that you send it individually to all your friends, you will have the option to republish it and thus ensure that it reaches all the people who follow it.

Facebook tests new app version with direct access to Reels videos

Facebook has started testing a new version of your app where users are taken directly to the video separator as soon as they open the social network application.

Miguel Patinha Dias

It should be remembered, however, that in order to republish a publication or video, the creator of such content must allow it.

If you do not want other Instagram users to be able to republish their content on their own pages, you can find below an explanation of how to disable this feature.

How to prevent Instagram republishes:

  • Open the Instagram app;
  • Go to your profile by clicking the last icon on the menu and you have your photograph;
  • In the upper right corner, press the icon with three horizontal risks;
  • Enter the area Share and reuse;
  • Disable option Republics in publications and reels to prevent them from doing so with their share.

logo_nacloset_285_285_4k_webp2
Privacy

This site uses cookies so that we can offer the best possible user experience. Cookies information is stored in your browser and perform functions such as recognizing it when you return to our website and helping our team understand which sections of the site you consider most interesting and useful.